Addicted To Coffee? It's In Your Genes

A new study identifies six genetic variants that influence our relationship with coffee. Follow Rosie Newberry: http://www.twitter.com/rosienewberry See more at http://www.newsy.com Sources: Flickr https://www.flickr.com/photos/dolkin/7058618883/in/photolist-bKKgtz-6dzEgT-9rteWc-cqwyGW-54LHGk-H4HHW-dQeABJ-9juBpD-neUNiW-7NdZoj-4snVvC-tg31x-9BXaVQ-2QBrgh-7ioABZ-6jWoSo-95UHfD-dHmPgN-4zXAbW-7Nrbf4-2ktFVa-5DbaNS-9GQM5a-5USMf-4xvCH3-7yQ2tv-6gWEZq-71zci9-7 WDIV http://www.clickondetroit.com/ Harvard School of Public Health http://www.hsph.harvard.edu/news/press-releases/genetic-variants-linked-with-coffee-drinking/ The Verge http://www.theverge.com/2014/10/7/6927689/heres-why-youre-bouncing-off-the-walls-the-genetics-of-coffee Medical News Today http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/283515.php Caffeine Informer http://www.caffeineinformer.com/top-10-caffeine-health-benefits Drug Info http://www.druginfo.adf.org.au/drug-facts/caffeine Food Manufacturing http://www.foodmanufacturing.com/news/2013/04/consumer-trends-83-percent-americans-drink-coffee Image via: Getty Images / Darren McCollester http://www.gettyimages.com/detail/news-photo/cafe-latte-is-seen-during-the-coffee-industry-expo-at-the-news-photo/166507683

Comments

Happy Hippie: I have problems with my stomach and therefore can't have caffeine as it can make me ill. So I drink 2 cups of decaf coffee a day. My husband however, practically lives on the stuff. Coffee and energy drinks. I think part of it is that he works 60 hours a week and it keeps him going. I'm trying to help him cut down at the moment though as that much caffeine daily can not be good for the body.

sillykidsnow: Hurray for coffee! Great work, Newsy! Keep it up!

Your name:

Your comment:

Video on this topic

Is Traveling in Our DNA?

Is Traveling in Our DNA?

Wanderlust may be more than just the desire to travel - it's in our genes! Why do we have the urge to explore? Read More: The Genetic Reason Why Some ...

The Chemistry of Addiction

The Chemistry of Addiction

Hank describes how our brains respond biochemically to various addictive substances and behaviors and where those responses have come from, ...

Addiction: Bad Habits Or Bad Genes?

Addiction: Bad Habits Or Bad Genes?

Pfizer Chief Medical Officer Dr. Freda Lewis-Hall says addiction is more than just a bad habit -- it's a disease. She sits down with Dr. Phil to discuss this illness.

Addiction

Addiction

What causes addiction? Easy, right? Drugs cause addiction. But maybe it is not that simple. This video is adapted from Johann Hari's New York Times ...

Coffee Addiction May Be Rooted in Genetics

Coffee Addiction May Be Rooted in Genetics

I THINK IM ADDICTED TO COFFEE

I THINK IM ADDICTED TO COFFEE

Today I realized while editing I think I may have a SLIGHT caffeine addiction... lol enjoy!! Free Uber Ride w/ my code: mollyb181 Free Postmates w/ my code: ...

Coffee Can Break Your DNA!

Coffee Can Break Your DNA!

Recent studies have found that habitual coffee drinking actually affects our DNA. But how exactly? Well, it's complicated. Is Caffeine Making Us Crazy?

Addicted To Coffee? It's In Your Genes

Addicted To Coffee? It's In Your Genes

A new study identifies six genetic variants that influence our relationship with coffee. Follow Rosie Newberry: http://www.twitter.com/rosienewberry See more at ...